Becoming an electrician in Utah

Choose another state

1 paid apprenticeship and 1 school program are listed here.

Jump to: License · Training · Pay

Licensing
Statewide worker license
Time to qualify
8,000 hours for the journeyman-level license
Median pay
$62,000 $29.81 an hour
Outlook
1,420 openings a year, projected · 22% growth, 2024–2034

Do I need a license?

Yes. Utah licenses electricians statewide. The journeyman-level credential is the Journeyman Electrician License, issued by the Utah Department of Commerce — Division of Professional Licensing. It requires at least 8,000 hours of experience. Source: Utah State Legislature (Utah Code 58-55-301), checked .

Before you start: You need this state credential before you start electrical work in Utah. Credential: Apprentice Electrician license, issued by Utah Division of Professional Licensing. Official source, checked .

Your path, step by step

  1. Apprentice Electrician License

    Experience
    Not stated
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    None required

    Source: Utah Division of Professional Licensing, Apprentice Electrician page · Find a paid apprenticeship in Utah

  2. Journeyman Electrician License

    Experience
    8,000 hours
    Classroom
    576 hours
    Exam
    Utah Journeyman Electrician Written Exam and Utah Electrician Practical Exam
    Holding the previous license
    At least 4 years

    Source: Utah Division of Professional Licensing, Journeyman Electrician page

  3. Master Electrician License

    Experience
    8,000 hours after the previous license
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Utah Master Electrician Law and Rule Exam
    Holding the previous license
    Not stated

    Source: Utah Division of Professional Licensing, Master Electrician page

Each step lists what its official source states for that license. Hours aren't added up across steps; a step says whether its hours include earlier steps' only where its source does. "Not stated" means the source doesn't give it. Checked .

Full Utah licensing requirements · 4 specialty and contractor licenses · How licensing works

How do I train?

Apprenticeships pay you while you learn. Schools teach first, then you find work. Which is right for me?

What does it pay?

What the work pays here, and how to decide.

Electricians in Utah earn a median of $62,000 a year ($29.81 an hour), according to BLS May 2025 OEWS estimates. That is about 1.9% below the national median of $63,190. About one in ten electricians here earns under $39,940 a year and about one in ten over $89,110.

Employment is projected to grow 22% over 2024–2034, with about 1,420 openings a year.

Sources: BLS May 2025 OEWS · Projections Central · Utah salary details

Nearby states: Arizona 3 · Colorado 3 · Idaho 2 · Nevada 3 · Wyoming 2

Listings here last checked