Becoming an electrician in Colorado

Choose another state

2 paid apprenticeships and 1 school program are listed here.

Jump to: License · Training · Pay

Licensing
Statewide worker license
Time to qualify
8,000 hours on the standard route; other routes can differ
Median pay
$62,230 $29.92 an hour
Outlook
2,340 openings a year, projected · 31% growth, 2024–2034

Do I need a license?

Yes. Colorado licenses electricians statewide. The journeyman-level credential is the Journeyman Electrician, issued by the Colorado State Electrical Board. Its standard route requires 8,000 hours of experience; other routes can differ. Source: Colorado Division of Professions and Occupations, checked . Standard-route hours: Colorado State Electrical Board.

Before you start: In Colorado, registration is due after you are hired rather than before you start. Deadline: within 30 days of starting work. Credential: Electrical Apprentice Registration, issued by Colorado State Electrical Board. Official source, checked .

Your path, step by step

  1. Electrical Apprentice Registration

    Experience
    None required
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Not stated

    Source: Colorado State Electrical Board, Electrical Apprentice Information · Find a paid apprenticeship in Colorado

  2. Journeyman Electrician

    Experience
    8,000 hours
    Classroom
    288 hours
    Exam
    Required
    Holding the previous license
    Not stated

    Source: Colorado State Electrical Board, Electrical Applications and Forms (Electrician Licensure Requirements)

  3. Master Electrician

    Experience
    10,000 hours in total, including earlier steps
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Required
    Holding the previous license
    Not stated

    Source: Colorado State Electrical Board, Electrical Applications and Forms (Electrician Licensure Requirements)

Each step lists what its official source states for that license. Hours aren't added up across steps; a step says whether its hours include earlier steps' only where its source does. "Not stated" means the source doesn't give it. Checked .

Full Colorado licensing requirements · 2 specialty and contractor licenses · How licensing works

How do I train?

Apprenticeships pay you while you learn. Schools teach first, then you find work. Which is right for me?

Paid apprenticeships 2

Colorado apprenticeships (2)

School programs 1

Colorado schools (1)

What does it pay?

What the work pays here, and how to decide.

Electricians in Colorado earn a median of $62,230 a year ($29.92 an hour), according to BLS May 2025 OEWS estimates. That is about 1.5% below the national median of $63,190. About one in ten electricians here earns under $45,520 a year and about one in ten over $94,160.

Employment is projected to grow 31% over 2024–2034, with about 2,340 openings a year.

Sources: BLS May 2025 OEWS · Projections Central · Colorado salary details

Nearby states: Kansas 4 · Nebraska 2 · New Mexico 2 · Oklahoma 2 · Utah 2 · Wyoming 2

Listings here last checked