Becoming an electrician in South Dakota

Choose another state

2 school programs are listed here; no apprenticeships yet.

Jump to: License · Training · Pay

Licensing
Statewide worker license
Time to qualify
8,000 hours for the journeyman-level license
Median pay
$61,390 $29.51 an hour
Outlook
330 openings a year, projected · 16% growth, 2024–2034

Do I need a license?

Yes. South Dakota licenses electricians statewide. The journeyman-level credential is the South Dakota Journeyman Electrician License, issued by the South Dakota Electrical Commission, Department of Labor and Regulation. It requires at least 8,000 hours of experience. Source: South Dakota Electrical Commission, checked .

Before you start: You need this state credential before you start electrical work in South Dakota. Credential: Apprentice registration (Apprentice License Application), issued by South Dakota Electrical Commission. Official source, checked .

Your path, step by step

  1. South Dakota Apprentice Electrician Registration

    Experience
    Not stated
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Not stated

    Source: South Dakota Codified Laws 36-16-21 (Apprentice registration)

  2. South Dakota Journeyman Electrician License

    Experience
    8,000 hours
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Required
    Holding the previous license
    Not stated

    Source: South Dakota Electrical Commission, Licensing page (Experience Requirements)

  3. South Dakota Electrical Contractor License

    Experience
    4,000 hours after the previous license
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Required
    Holding the previous license
    Not stated

    Source: South Dakota Electrical Commission, Licensing page (Experience Requirements)

Each step lists what its official source states for that license. Hours aren't added up across steps; a step says whether its hours include earlier steps' only where its source does. "Not stated" means the source doesn't give it. Checked .

Full South Dakota licensing requirements · 4 more licenses · How licensing works

How do I train?

Apprenticeships pay you while you learn. Schools teach first, then you find work. Which is right for me?

Paid apprenticeships 0

None listed in South Dakota yet. Search registered apprenticeships on Apprenticeship.gov or browse all apprenticeships.

School programs 2

South Dakota schools (2)

What does it pay?

What the work pays here, and how to decide.

Electricians in South Dakota earn a median of $61,390 a year ($29.51 an hour), according to BLS May 2025 OEWS estimates. That is about 2.8% below the national median of $63,190. About one in ten electricians here earns under $44,320 a year and about one in ten over $80,060.

Employment is projected to grow 16% over 2024–2034, with about 330 openings a year.

Sources: BLS May 2025 OEWS · Projections Central · South Dakota salary details

Nearby states: Iowa 2 · Minnesota 4 · Montana 1 · Nebraska 2 · North Dakota 2 · Wyoming 2

Listings here last checked