Becoming an electrician in North Dakota

Choose another state

1 paid apprenticeship and 1 school program are listed here.

Jump to: License · Training · Pay

Licensing
Statewide worker license
Time to qualify
8,000 hours on the standard route; other routes can differ
Median pay
$65,710 $31.59 an hour
Outlook
350 openings a year, projected · 15% growth, 2024–2034

Do I need a license?

Yes. North Dakota licenses electricians statewide. The journeyman-level credential is the Journeyman Electrician License, issued by the North Dakota State Electrical Board. Its standard route requires 8,000 hours of experience; other routes can differ. Source: North Dakota Legislative Branch (N.D.C.C. chapter 43-09), checked . Standard-route hours: North Dakota Century Code ch. 43-09.

Before you start: In North Dakota, registration is due after you are hired rather than before you start. Deadline: within the first six months of employment. Credential: Apprentice Electrician registration (or Power Limited Apprentice registration), issued by North Dakota State Electrical Board. Official source, checked .

Your path, step by step

  1. Apprentice Electrician Registration

    Experience
    Not stated
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Not stated

    Source: North Dakota State Electrical Board, Apprenticeship Information & Registration · Find a paid apprenticeship in North Dakota

  2. Journeyman Electrician License

    Experience
    8,000 hours
    Classroom
    576 hours
    Exam
    Required
    Holding the previous license
    Not stated

    Source: North Dakota State Electrical Board, Qualifications for Licensure

  3. Master Electrician License

    Experience
    2,000 hours after the previous license
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Required
    Holding the previous license
    At least 1 year

    Source: North Dakota State Electrical Board, Qualifications for Licensure

Each step lists what its official source states for that license. Hours aren't added up across steps; a step says whether its hours include earlier steps' only where its source does. "Not stated" means the source doesn't give it. Checked .

Full North Dakota licensing requirements · 5 more licenses · How licensing works

How do I train?

Apprenticeships pay you while you learn. Schools teach first, then you find work. Which is right for me?

Paid apprenticeships 1

North Dakota apprenticeships (1)

School programs 1

North Dakota schools (1)

What does it pay?

What the work pays here, and how to decide.

Electricians in North Dakota earn a median of $65,710 a year ($31.59 an hour), according to BLS May 2025 OEWS estimates. That is about 4.0% above the national median of $63,190. About one in ten electricians here earns under $46,440 a year and about one in ten over $101,020.

Employment is projected to grow 15% over 2024–2034, with about 350 openings a year.

Sources: BLS May 2025 OEWS · Projections Central · North Dakota salary details

Nearby states: Minnesota 4 · Montana 1 · South Dakota 2

Listings here last checked