Becoming an electrician in Iowa

Choose another state

1 paid apprenticeship and 1 school program are listed here.

Jump to: License · Training · Pay

Licensing
Statewide worker license
Time to qualify
See the steps below experience for each license
Median pay
$60,860 $29.26 an hour
Outlook
860 openings a year, projected · 12% growth, 2024–2034

Do I need a license?

Yes. Iowa licenses electricians statewide. The journeyman-level credential is the Journeyman Electrician, Class A, issued by the Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing (DIAL) — Electrical Examining Board. Source: Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing, checked .

Before you start: You need this state credential before you start electrical work in Iowa. Credential: Apprentice Electrician license (for registered-apprenticeship participants) or Unclassified Person license (others working under supervision), issued by Iowa Electrical Examining Board (DIAL). Official source, checked .

Your path, step by step

  1. Apprentice Electrician

    Experience
    Not stated
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Not stated

    Source: Iowa Administrative Code 481—401.2(10) (Electrical Examining Board licensing requirements) · Find a paid apprenticeship in Iowa

  2. Journeyman Electrician, Class A

    Experience
    Not stated
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Required
    Holding the previous license
    At least 4 years

    Source: Iowa Administrative Code 481—401.2(6) (Electrical Examining Board licensing requirements)

  3. Master Electrician, Class A

    Experience
    Not stated
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Required
    Holding the previous license
    At least 1 year

    Source: Iowa Administrative Code 481—401.2(3) (Electrical Examining Board licensing requirements)

Each step lists what its official source states for that license. Hours aren't added up across steps; a step says whether its hours include earlier steps' only where its source does. "Not stated" means the source doesn't give it. Checked .

Full Iowa licensing requirements · 10 more licenses · How licensing works

How do I train?

Apprenticeships pay you while you learn. Schools teach first, then you find work. Which is right for me?

Paid apprenticeships 1

Iowa apprenticeships (1)

School programs 1

Iowa schools (1)

What does it pay?

What the work pays here, and how to decide.

Electricians in Iowa earn a median of $60,860 a year ($29.26 an hour), according to BLS May 2025 OEWS estimates. That is about 3.7% below the national median of $63,190. About one in ten electricians here earns under $39,770 a year and about one in ten over $89,480.

Employment is projected to grow 12% over 2024–2034, with about 860 openings a year.

Sources: BLS May 2025 OEWS · Projections Central · Iowa salary details

Nearby states: Illinois 3 · Minnesota 4 · Missouri 3 · Nebraska 2 · South Dakota 2 · Wisconsin 4

Listings here last checked