Becoming an electrician in Minnesota

Choose another state

1 paid apprenticeship and 3 school programs are listed here.

Jump to: License · Training · Pay

Licensing
Statewide worker license
Time to qualify
See the steps below experience for each license
Median pay
$78,160 $37.58 an hour
Outlook
1,490 openings a year, projected · 13% growth, 2024–2034

Do I need a license?

Yes. Minnesota licenses electricians statewide. The journeyman-level credential is the Class A Journeyworker Electrician, issued by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry. Source: Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes (Minn. Stat. 326B.33), checked .

Before you start: You need this state credential before you start electrical work in Minnesota. Credential: Registered Unlicensed Individual - Electrical (RE) or Power Limited Technician (RT), issued by Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry. Official source, checked .

Your path, step by step

  1. Registered Unlicensed Electrician (RE)

    Experience
    Not stated
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    None required

    Source: Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, Registered unlicensed electricians · Find a paid apprenticeship in Minnesota

  2. Class A Journeyworker Electrician

    Experience
    8,000 hours
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Required
    Holding the previous license
    Not stated

    Source: Minnesota Statutes 326B.33 subd. 2 (Journeyworker electrician) and DLI Personal Electrical License Examination Application

  3. Class A Master Electrician

    Experience
    10,000 hours
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Required
    Holding the previous license
    At least 1 year

    Source: Minnesota Statutes 326B.33 subd. 1 (Master electrician) and DLI Personal Electrical License Examination Application

Each step lists what its official source states for that license. Hours aren't added up across steps; a step says whether its hours include earlier steps' only where its source does. "Not stated" means the source doesn't give it. Checked .

Full Minnesota licensing requirements · 14 specialty and contractor licenses · How licensing works

How do I train?

Apprenticeships pay you while you learn. Schools teach first, then you find work. Which is right for me?

Paid apprenticeships 1

Minnesota apprenticeships (1)

School programs 3

Minnesota schools (3)

What does it pay?

What the work pays here, and how to decide.

Electricians in Minnesota earn a median of $78,160 a year ($37.58 an hour), according to BLS May 2025 OEWS estimates. That is about 24% above the national median of $63,190. About one in ten electricians here earns under $47,480 a year and about one in ten over $118,820.

Employment is projected to grow 13% over 2024–2034, with about 1,490 openings a year.

Sources: BLS May 2025 OEWS · Projections Central · Minnesota salary details

Nearby states: Iowa 2 · North Dakota 2 · South Dakota 2 · Wisconsin 4

Listings here last checked