Becoming an electrician in Oklahoma

Choose another state

1 paid apprenticeship and 1 school program are listed here.

Jump to: License · Training · Pay

Licensing
Statewide worker license
Time to qualify
8,000 hours on the standard route; other routes can differ
Median pay
$61,010 $29.33 an hour
Outlook
920 openings a year, projected · 9.1% growth, 2024–2034

Do I need a license?

Yes. Oklahoma licenses electricians statewide. The journeyman-level credential is the Unlimited Electrical Journeyman License, issued by the Oklahoma Construction Industries Board — Electrical Licensing Unit. Its standard route requires 8,000 hours of experience; other routes can differ. Source: Oklahoma Construction Industries Board, checked . Standard-route hours: Oklahoma Construction Industries Board.

Your path, step by step

  1. Electrical Apprentice Registration

    Experience
    Not stated
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Not stated

    Source: Oklahoma Electrical License Act, 59 O.S. § 1686 (Registration as electrical apprentice) · Find a paid apprenticeship in Oklahoma

  2. Unlimited Electrical Journeyman License

    Experience
    8,000 hours
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Required
    Holding the previous license
    Not stated

    Source: Oklahoma Construction Industries Board rules, OAC 158:40-7-1(b) (Unlimited electrical license)

  3. Unlimited Electrical Contractor License

    Experience
    12,000 hours
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Required
    Holding the previous license
    At least 2 years

    To use it actively, the holder must be an officer, partner or owner of the electrical firm.

    Source: Oklahoma Construction Industries Board rules, OAC 158:40-7-1(a) (Unlimited electrical license)

Each step lists what its official source states for that license. Hours aren't added up across steps; a step says whether its hours include earlier steps' only where its source does. "Not stated" means the source doesn't give it. Checked .

Full Oklahoma licensing requirements · 7 more licenses · How licensing works

How do I train?

Apprenticeships pay you while you learn. Schools teach first, then you find work. Which is right for me?

Paid apprenticeships 1

Oklahoma apprenticeships (1)

School programs 1

Oklahoma schools (1)

What does it pay?

What the work pays here, and how to decide.

Electricians in Oklahoma earn a median of $61,010 a year ($29.33 an hour), according to BLS May 2025 OEWS estimates. That is about 3.4% below the national median of $63,190. About one in ten electricians here earns under $37,900 a year and about one in ten over $92,740.

Employment is projected to grow 9.1% over 2024–2034, with about 920 openings a year.

Sources: BLS May 2025 OEWS · Projections Central · Oklahoma salary details

Nearby states: Arkansas 2 · Colorado 3 · Kansas 4 · Missouri 3 · New Mexico 2 · Texas 16

Listings here last checked