Becoming an electrician in Oregon

Choose another state

2 paid apprenticeships are listed here; no school programs yet.

Jump to: License · Training · Pay

Licensing
Statewide worker license
Time to qualify
See the steps below experience for each license
Median pay
$101,310 $48.71 an hour
Outlook
1,110 openings a year, projected · 12% growth, 2024–2034

Do I need a license?

Yes. Oregon licenses electricians statewide. The journeyman-level credential is the General Journeyman Electrician (J), issued by the Oregon Building Codes Division (BCD). Source: Oregon Building Codes Division, checked .

Before you start: You need this state credential before you start electrical work in Oregon. Credential: Electrical apprentice's license, issued to a person who has complied with ORS 660.002-660.210 (state-registered apprenticeship), issued by Oregon Building Codes Division under ORS 479.630. Official source, checked .

Your path, step by step

  1. Electrical Apprentice License (branch/program-specific)

    Experience
    Not stated
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Not stated

    Source: Oregon Revised Statutes 479.620 and 479.630 (electrical licenses) · Find a paid apprenticeship in Oregon

  2. General Journeyman Electrician (J)

    Experience
    Not stated
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Required
    Holding the previous license
    Not stated

    Source: Oregon Revised Statutes 479.630(4) (general journeyman electrician's license)

  3. General Supervising Electrician (S)

    Experience
    8,000 hours after the previous license
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Required
    Holding the previous license
    Not stated

    Source: Oregon Building Codes Division, Electrical License Application Information (form 440-2570I)

Each step lists what its official source states for that license. Hours aren't added up across steps; a step says whether its hours include earlier steps' only where its source does. "Not stated" means the source doesn't give it. Checked .

Full Oregon licensing requirements · 19 specialty and contractor licenses · How licensing works

How do I train?

Apprenticeships pay you while you learn. Schools teach first, then you find work. Which is right for me?

Paid apprenticeships 2

Oregon apprenticeships (2)

School programs 0

None listed in Oregon yet. Browse all schools.

What does it pay?

What the work pays here, and how to decide.

Electricians in Oregon earn a median of $101,310 a year ($48.71 an hour), according to BLS May 2025 OEWS estimates. That is about 60% above the national median of $63,190. About one in ten electricians here earns under $59,550 a year and about one in ten over $131,530.

Employment is projected to grow 12% over 2024–2034, with about 1,110 openings a year.

Sources: BLS May 2025 OEWS · Projections Central · Oregon salary details

Nearby states: California 9 · Idaho 2 · Nevada 3 · Washington 5

Listings here last checked