Becoming an electrician in Connecticut

Choose another state

1 paid apprenticeship and 1 school program are listed here.

Jump to: License · Training · Pay

Licensing
Statewide worker license
Time to qualify
8,000 hours on the standard route; other routes can differ
Median pay
$77,540 $37.28 an hour
Outlook
870 openings a year, projected · 12% growth, 2024–2034

Do I need a license?

Yes. Connecticut licenses electricians statewide. The journeyman-level credential is the E-2 Unlimited Electrical Journeyperson License, issued by the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection — Electrical Work Board. Its standard route requires 8,000 hours of experience; other routes can differ. Source: Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection, checked . Standard-route hours: Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection.

Before you start: You need this state credential before you start electrical work in Connecticut. Credential: Registered apprentice card of registration (Labor Department); DCP trainee registration for license types without an established apprenticeship (e.g. C-8 sign), issued by Connecticut Department of Labor (apprentices); Department of Consumer Protection (trainees). Official source, checked .

Your path, step by step

  1. Registered Apprentice — Connecticut Electrical Trade

    Experience
    Not stated
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Not stated

    Source: Connecticut General Statutes, chapter 393, § 20-334 (License or registration required) · Find a paid apprenticeship in Connecticut

  2. E-2 Unlimited Electrical Journeyperson License

    Experience
    8,000 hours
    Classroom
    720 hours
    Exam
    Required
    Holding the previous license
    Not stated

    Source: Connecticut Department of Labor, Office of Apprenticeship Training, Electrician (E-2) apprenticeship work schedule

  3. E-1 Unlimited Electrical Contractor License

    Experience
    Not stated
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Required
    Holding the previous license
    At least 2 years

    Source: Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies § 20-332-2(a) (Licenses issued by the electrical work examining board)

Each step lists what its official source states for that license. Hours aren't added up across steps; a step says whether its hours include earlier steps' only where its source does. "Not stated" means the source doesn't give it. Checked .

Full Connecticut licensing requirements · 14 more licenses · How licensing works

How do I train?

Apprenticeships pay you while you learn. Schools teach first, then you find work. Which is right for me?

What does it pay?

What the work pays here, and how to decide.

Electricians in Connecticut earn a median of $77,540 a year ($37.28 an hour), according to BLS May 2025 OEWS estimates. That is about 23% above the national median of $63,190. About one in ten electricians here earns under $47,680 a year and about one in ten over $104,280.

Employment is projected to grow 12% over 2024–2034, with about 870 openings a year.

Sources: BLS May 2025 OEWS · Projections Central · Connecticut salary details

Nearby states: Massachusetts 2 · New York 5 · Rhode Island 2

Listings here last checked