Becoming an electrician in Alaska

Choose another state

1 paid apprenticeship and 1 school program are listed here.

Jump to: License · Training · Pay

Licensing
Statewide worker license
Time to qualify
8,000 hours on the standard route; other routes can differ
Median pay
$89,440 $43.00 an hour
Outlook
160 openings a year, projected · 2.1% growth, 2024–2034

Do I need a license?

Yes. Alaska licenses electricians statewide. The journeyman-level credential is the Electrician Journeyman Certificate of Fitness, issued by the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development — Mechanical Inspection. Its standard route requires 8,000 hours of experience; other routes can differ. Source: Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, checked . Standard-route hours: Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development.

Before you start: You need this state credential before you start electrical work in Alaska. Credential: Electrician and Power Lineman Trainee Certificate of Fitness (8 AAC 90.165), issued by Alaska DOLWD Mechanical Inspection. Official source, checked .

Your path, step by step

  1. Electrician and Power Lineman Trainee Certificate of Fitness

    Experience
    None required
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    None required

    Source: Alaska DOLWD Mechanical Inspection, Licenses and Requirements page (Electrician and Power Lineman Trainee, 8 AAC 90.165) · Find a paid apprenticeship in Alaska

  2. Electrician Journeyman Certificate of Fitness

    Experience
    8,000 hours
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Required
    Holding the previous license
    Not stated

    Source: Alaska Certificates of Fitness Statutes and Regulations (8 AAC 90.160), Mechanical Inspection, August 2025

  3. Electrical Administrator License

    Experience
    Not stated
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Required
    Holding the previous license
    Not stated

    For the unlimited commercial category, the ordinary route is at least four of the six years before applying as a journeyman electrician in inside commercial wiring.

    Source: Alaska Electrical Administrators Statutes and Regulations (AS 08.40; 12 AAC 32.145), Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Each step lists what its official source states for that license. Hours aren't added up across steps; a step says whether its hours include earlier steps' only where its source does. "Not stated" means the source doesn't give it. Checked .

Full Alaska licensing requirements · 4 more licenses · How licensing works

How do I train?

Apprenticeships pay you while you learn. Schools teach first, then you find work. Which is right for me?

What does it pay?

What the work pays here, and how to decide.

Electricians in Alaska earn a median of $89,440 a year ($43.00 an hour), according to BLS May 2025 OEWS estimates. That is about 42% above the national median of $63,190. About one in ten electricians here earns under $58,420 a year and about one in ten over $123,200.

Employment is projected to grow 2.1% over 2024–2034, with about 160 openings a year.

Sources: BLS May 2025 OEWS · Projections Central · Alaska salary details

Listings here last checked