Becoming an electrician in the District of Columbia

Choose another state

We don’t list schools or apprenticeships in the District of Columbia yet.

Jump to: License · Training · Pay

Licensing
District-wide worker license
Time to qualify
8,000 hours on the standard route; other routes can differ
Median pay
$78,970 $37.97 an hour
Outlook
220 openings a year, projected · 12% growth, 2024–2034

Do I need a license?

Yes. The District of Columbia licenses electricians District-wide. The journeyman-level credential is the Electrician Journeyman, issued by the District of Columbia Board of Industrial Trades. Its standard route requires 8,000 hours of experience; other routes can differ. Source: DC Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection, checked . Standard-route hours: D.C. Code § 47-2853.92.

Before you start: You need this state credential before you start electrical work in the District of Columbia. Credential: Apprentice electrician registration (fee schedule lists it as an Apprentice license), issued by DC Board of Industrial Trades (DLCP). Official source, checked .

Your path, step by step

  1. Electrician Apprentice

    Experience
    None required
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    None required

    Source: D.C. Code § 47-2853.92 (Eligibility requirements, electricians)

  2. Electrician Journeyman

    Experience
    8,000 hours
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Required
    Holding the previous license
    Not stated

    Source: D.C. Code § 47-2853.92 (Eligibility requirements, electricians)

  3. Electrician Master

    Experience
    16,000 hours
    Classroom
    Not stated
    Exam
    Required
    Holding the previous license
    At least 4 years

    Source: D.C. Code § 47-2853.92 (Eligibility requirements, electricians)

Each step lists what its official source states for that license. Hours aren't added up across steps; a step says whether its hours include earlier steps' only where its source does. "Not stated" means the source doesn't give it. Checked .

Full District of Columbia licensing requirements · 8 more licenses · How licensing works

How do I train?

Apprenticeships pay you while you learn. Schools teach first, then you find work. Which is right for me?

Paid apprenticeships 0

None listed in the District of Columbia yet. Search registered apprenticeships on Apprenticeship.gov or browse all apprenticeships.

School programs 0

None listed in the District of Columbia yet. Browse all schools.

What does it pay?

What the work pays here, and how to decide.

Electricians in the District of Columbia earn a median of $78,970 a year ($37.97 an hour), according to BLS May 2025 OEWS estimates. That is about 25% above the national median of $63,190. About one in ten electricians here earns under $51,950 a year and about one in ten over $125,790.

Employment is projected to grow 12% over 2024–2034, with about 220 openings a year.

Sources: BLS May 2025 OEWS · Projections Central · District of Columbia salary details

Nearby states: Maryland 3 · Virginia 2