Electrician Licensing in Rhode Island
Rhode Island licenses electricians statewide. The journeyman-level credential is the B — Journeyperson Electrician’s License, issued by the Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation. Its standard route requires 8,000 hours of experience; other routes can differ.
Source: Rhode Island General Assembly, checked 2026-10-07 · Standard-route hours: Rhode Island General Laws § 5-6-24
Before you start: In Rhode Island, registration is due after you are hired rather than before you start. Deadline: immediately upon employment.
- Credential
- Apprentice electrician registration (and specialty apprentice registrations)
- Issued by
- Rhode Island DLT Division of Professional Regulation
- Fee
- Not confirmed in our records.
Official source · Checked 2026-10-07
Page last reviewed 2026-10-01 against official sources; credential requirements checked 2026-09-06. Confirm with the issuing authority before applying.
How electrical licensing works in Rhode Island
Rhode Island licenses electrical workers and electrical-contracting businesses separately. A beginner normally starts with a registered apprenticeship under the appropriate licensed worker. Class B is the broad journeyperson electrician license; Class A authorizes an electrical-contracting business. Holding A alone does not authorize personal installation work.
The cards below also cover specialty workers and contractors, employer-specific C, D and PC premises licenses, sign renovation, renewable-energy professionals and electrical-inspector certification. Choose the authorization for the work and holder involved; these are not successive levels of one license.
Credential-specific requirements
Requirements differ by credential. Expand any credential for the work or business activity you plan to perform. Issued by Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation unless noted.
Apprentice Electrician Registration Registration
- Issuing authority
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation →
- Scope of work
- Supervised apprentice authority for ordinary electrical work; not an independent electrician license.
- Experience or qualification
- Register immediately upon qualifying employment and work under direct personal supervision of an appropriately licensed journeyperson. The B route requires 8,000 hours over at least four years and 144 hours of related instruction per year in an approved registered program.
- Examination
- No examination is stated in the apprentice registration instructions; the later worker-license examination is a separate step.
- Initial fee
- The current apprentice registration instructions and agreement do not state an initial fee. Confirm the amount and registration route with DLT before paying.
- Renewal
- Registration expires on the date printed on the card and is employer-specific. Request any justified extension before expiration; a change of employer requires a new agreement and card.
- Official application
- Apply / forms →
B — Journeyperson Electrician’s License License
- Issuing authority
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation →
- Scope of work
- All electrical work, including fire alarm, life-safety communications systems, and electrical signs; ordinarily works within the statutory employer/contractor structure.
- Experience or qualification
- Complete the applicable registered apprenticeship: at least 8,000 hours over four years and 144 hours of related instruction per year. Submit the required completion and employer experience evidence.
- Examination
- DLT examination required; code 22 and $75 examination application fee.
- Initial fee
- $72 license fee after passing.
- Renewal
- Renews for two years on the qualifying individual's birthday. Fifteen hours of Board-approved continuing education are required.
- Official application
- Apply / forms →
A — Electrical Contractor’s License Contractor license
- Issuing authority
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation →
- Scope of work
- Conduct an electrical-contracting business through licensed workers; A alone does not authorize the holder's personal installation work.
- Experience or qualification
- At least 12,000 hours over six years and Rhode Island B held for two years.
- Examination
- DLT contractor examination required; $75 application fee.
- Initial fee
- $240 license fee.
- Renewal
- Renews for two years on the qualifying individual's birthday. Fifteen hours of Board-approved continuing education are required.
- Official application
- Apply / forms →
Apprentice Maintenance Electrician Registration Registration
- Issuing authority
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation →
- Scope of work
- Supervised apprentice authority for limited-maintenance electrical work.
- Experience or qualification
- Register and work under direct personal supervision of a valid M holder. The M route requires 6,000 hours over at least three years and 144 hours of related instruction per year in an approved registered program.
- Examination
- No examination is stated in the apprentice registration instructions; the later worker-license examination is a separate step.
- Initial fee
- The current apprentice registration instructions and agreement do not state an initial fee. Confirm the amount and registration route with DLT before paying.
- Renewal
- Registration expires on the date printed on the card and is employer-specific. Request any justified extension before expiration; a change of employer requires a new agreement and card.
- Official application
- Apply / forms →
M — Limited-Maintenance Journeyperson License License
- Issuing authority
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation →
- Scope of work
- Limited-maintenance electrical work while regularly employed by a C or D holder.
- Experience or qualification
- At least 6,000 hours over three years in the applicable registered apprenticeship, 144 hours of related instruction per year, and employer evidence of the work.
- Examination
- DLT examination required; code 124 and $75 examination application fee.
- Initial fee
- $72 license fee shown by current DLT materials.
- Renewal
- Renews for two years on the qualifying individual's birthday.
- Official application
- Apply / forms →
Apprentice Burnerperson Registration Registration
- Issuing authority
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation →
- Scope of work
- Supervised apprentice authority for burnerperson work.
- Experience or qualification
- Work under direct personal supervision of F. The active rule requires 4,000 hours over at least two years before the F examination.
- Examination
- No examination is stated in the apprentice registration instructions; the later worker-license examination is a separate step.
- Initial fee
- The current apprentice registration instructions and agreement do not state an initial fee. Confirm the amount and registration route with DLT before paying. The $20 entry on the general electrician form is for one-year renewal only.
- Renewal
- Registration expires on the date printed on the card and is employer-specific. Request any justified extension before expiration; a change of employer requires a new agreement and card. The general electrician form separately lists a $20 one-year renewal for this specialty; confirm the route for your card with DLT.
- Official application
- Apply / forms →
F — Burnerperson’s License License
- Issuing authority
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation →
- Scope of work
- Electrical wiring and equipment work limited to qualifying burner equipment; excludes work on burners using No. 3, 4, 5, or 6 fuel oil. The active rule restricts E/F to domestic oil and gas heating equipment and reserves commercial burners using No. 2–6 fuel oil to A/B; the F statute names No. 3–6. Confirm equipment scope with DLT.
- Experience or qualification
- Active rule requires 4,000 hours over at least two years as a registered limited apprentice; the DLT form instead broadly states four years and 576 instruction hours for journeyperson tests.
- Examination
- DLT examination required; $75 application fee.
- Initial fee
- $72 license fee.
- Renewal
- Renews for two years on the qualifying individual's birthday.
- Official application
- Apply / forms →
Apprentice Fire Alarm Installer Registration Registration
- Issuing authority
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation →
- Scope of work
- Supervised apprentice authority for fire-alarm installation work.
- Experience or qualification
- Work under supervision of BF. The active rule requires 4,000 hours over at least two years before the BF examination.
- Examination
- No examination is stated in the apprentice registration instructions; the later worker-license examination is a separate step.
- Initial fee
- The current apprentice registration instructions and agreement do not state an initial fee. Confirm the amount and registration route with DLT before paying. The $20 entry on the general electrician form is for one-year renewal only.
- Renewal
- Registration expires on the date printed on the card and is employer-specific. Request any justified extension before expiration; a change of employer requires a new agreement and card. The general electrician form separately lists a $20 one-year renewal for this specialty; confirm the route for your card with DLT.
- Official application
- Apply / forms →
BF — Fire Alarm Installer’s License License
- Issuing authority
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation →
- Scope of work
- Install, maintain, service, and test fire-alarm systems.
- Experience or qualification
- Active rule requires 4,000 hours over at least two years as a registered limited apprentice; the DLT form states a conflicting broad four-year/576-hour journeyperson route.
- Examination
- DLT examination required; $75 application fee.
- Initial fee
- $72 license fee.
- Renewal
- Renews for two years on the qualifying individual's birthday.
- Official application
- Apply / forms →
Apprentice Electrical Sign Installer Registration Registration
- Issuing authority
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation →
- Scope of work
- Supervised apprentice authority for electrical-sign installation.
- Experience or qualification
- Up to two apprentices may work under direct personal supervision of CF. The active rule requires 4,000 hours over at least two years before the CF examination.
- Examination
- No examination is stated in the apprentice registration instructions; the later worker-license examination is a separate step.
- Initial fee
- The current apprentice registration instructions and agreement do not state an initial fee. Confirm the amount and registration route with DLT before paying. The $20 entry on the general electrician form is for one-year renewal only.
- Renewal
- Registration expires on the date printed on the card and is employer-specific. Request any justified extension before expiration; a change of employer requires a new agreement and card. The general electrician form separately lists a $20 one-year renewal for this specialty; confirm the route for your card with DLT.
- Official application
- Apply / forms →
CF — Electrical Sign Installer’s License License
- Issuing authority
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation →
- Scope of work
- Install, maintain, work on, and repair electrical signs within the statutory sign-installer scope.
- Experience or qualification
- Active rule requires 4,000 hours over at least two years as a registered limited apprentice; the DLT form states a conflicting broad four-year/576-hour journeyperson route.
- Examination
- DLT examination required; $75 application fee.
- Initial fee
- $72 license fee.
- Renewal
- Renews for two years on the qualifying individual's birthday.
- Official application
- Apply / forms →
Apprentice Lightning-Protection Installer Registration Registration
- Issuing authority
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation →
- Scope of work
- Supervised apprentice authority for lightning-protection installation.
- Experience or qualification
- Work under direct personal supervision of LPI; 4,000 hours over at least two years are required before the LPI examination.
- Examination
- No examination is stated in the apprentice registration instructions; the later worker-license examination is a separate step.
- Initial fee
- The current apprentice registration instructions and agreement do not state an initial fee. Confirm the amount and registration route with DLT before paying. The $20 entry on the general electrician form is for one-year renewal only.
- Renewal
- Registration expires on the date printed on the card and is employer-specific. Request any justified extension before expiration; a change of employer requires a new agreement and card. The general electrician form separately lists a $20 one-year renewal for this specialty; confirm the route for your card with DLT.
- Official application
- Apply / forms →
LPI — Lightning-Protection Installer’s License License
- Issuing authority
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation →
- Scope of work
- Install, maintain, work on, and repair lightning-protection systems under the statutory NFPA 780 definition.
- Experience or qualification
- At least 4,000 hours over two years with a recognized lightning-protection company.
- Examination
- DLT examination required; $75 application fee.
- Initial fee
- $72 license fee.
- Renewal
- Renews for two years on the qualifying individual's birthday.
- Official application
- Apply / forms →
E — Burner Contractor’s License Contractor license
- Issuing authority
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation →
- Scope of work
- Contract for burner electrical work through F workers; E alone does not authorize personal installation work. The active rule restricts E/F to domestic oil and gas heating equipment and reserves commercial burners using No. 2–6 fuel oil to A/B; the F statute names No. 3–6. Confirm equipment scope with DLT.
- Experience or qualification
- At least 21 years old under the active rule. The current DLT application requires all contractor-test applicants to document six years in their respective trade and a Rhode Island journeyperson license held for at least two years, with a notarized employer statement. Confirm the qualifying journeyperson class with DLT; the rule states the 12,000-hour/B-license route specifically for Class A.
- Examination
- DLT examination required; $75 application fee.
- Initial fee
- $240 license fee.
- Renewal
- Renews for two years on the qualifying individual's birthday.
- Official application
- Apply / forms →
AF — Fire Alarm Contractor’s License Contractor license
- Issuing authority
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation →
- Scope of work
- Contract for fire-alarm work through BF installers; AF alone does not authorize personal installation work.
- Experience or qualification
- At least 21 years old under the active rule. The current DLT application requires all contractor-test applicants to document six years in their respective trade and a Rhode Island journeyperson license held for at least two years, with a notarized employer statement. Confirm the qualifying journeyperson class with DLT; the rule states the 12,000-hour/B-license route specifically for Class A.
- Examination
- DLT examination required; $75 application fee.
- Initial fee
- $240 license fee.
- Renewal
- Renews for two years on the qualifying individual's birthday.
- Official application
- Apply / forms →
SRL — Sign Renovation Electrical License Mixed-holder license
- Issuing authority
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation →
- Scope of work
- Business authority for a person, firm, or corporation doing sign renovation or installation requiring removal or installation of no more than three wires.
- Experience or qualification
- The statute permits a person, firm or corporation engaged in qualifying sign renovation or installation. The rule sets a minimum age of 18 for licenses outside its listed contractor classes but gives no SRL/LPR-specific experience route. Ask DLT to confirm current eligibility and the application route.
- Examination
- A current SRL/LPR-specific examination route is not stated in the reviewed rule or general application. The statute uses SRL and the rule uses LPR; confirm the required examination and filing route with DLT.
- Initial fee
- $72 statutory license fee.
- Renewal
- Renews for two years on the qualifying individual's birthday.
- Official legal authority
- View rules →
SCF — Electrical Sign Contractor’s License Contractor license
- Issuing authority
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation →
- Scope of work
- Electrical-sign contracting only; CF is required for actual sign installation.
- Experience or qualification
- At least 21 years old under the active rule. The current DLT application requires all contractor-test applicants to document six years in their respective trade and a Rhode Island journeyperson license held for at least two years, with a notarized employer statement. Confirm the qualifying journeyperson class with DLT; the rule states the 12,000-hour/B-license route specifically for Class A.
- Examination
- DLT examination required; $75 application fee.
- Initial fee
- $240 license fee.
- Renewal
- Renews for two years on the qualifying individual's birthday.
- Official application
- Apply / forms →
LPC — Lightning-Protection Contractor’s License Contractor license
- Issuing authority
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation →
- Scope of work
- Lightning-protection contracting through LPI workers; LPC alone does not authorize personal installation unless the holder also has LPI.
- Experience or qualification
- At least 21 years old under the active rule. The current DLT application requires all contractor-test applicants to document six years in their respective trade and a Rhode Island journeyperson license held for at least two years, with a notarized employer statement. Confirm the qualifying journeyperson class with DLT; the rule states the 12,000-hour/B-license route specifically for Class A.
- Examination
- DLT examination required; $75 application fee.
- Initial fee
- Official fee conflict: current statute says $240; current DLT application says $200.
- Renewal
- Renews for two years on the qualifying individual's birthday.
- Official application
- Apply / forms →
REP — Renewable Energy Professional Certificate Certificate
- Issuing authority
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation →
- Scope of work
- Renewable-energy contracting and specified ancillary non-electrical work; all renewable-energy electrical work remains reserved to licensed electricians.
- Experience or qualification
- The statute requires certification from a nationally recognized or equivalent renewable-energy training program and proof to the Office of Energy Resources. The DLT application also calls for current Rhode Island contractor registration and lists accepted training/certification alternatives; confirm the option and permitted technology with DLT.
- Examination
- No test; operational code REPC 127.
- Initial fee
- $240 two-year certificate fee.
- Renewal
- Renews for two years on the qualifying individual's birthday.
- Official application
- Apply / forms →
C — Limited-Premises License Premises license
- Issuing authority
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation →
- Scope of work
- Work on the licensed premises through employed electricians. Section 5-6-14 allows installation and maintenance but bars new external construction over 2,000 square feet; the rule excludes new construction/additions more broadly, while the C/D form describes C installation on existing buildings or land. Obtain permits and ask DLT to resolve project-specific limits.
- Experience or qualification
- For eligible transportation, airport, manufacturing or industrial applicants regularly employing one or more Class B or M electricians. A responsible officer applies and describes the premises; the form requests worker license numbers and the responsible electrician signature. The rule also covers the Division of Facilities Management under its specific limits.
- Examination
- No test for this premises application, as marked in the DLT fee table. The electricians employed under it must hold the required worker licenses.
- Initial fee
- $240 initial or renewal application.
- Renewal
- Renews for two years on the qualifying individual's birthday. One license is required for each listed address.
- Official application
- Apply / forms →
D — Limited-Maintenance License Premises license
- Issuing authority
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation →
- Scope of work
- Premises-bound maintenance authority for eligible municipalities, schools, hospitals, colleges, and other nonmanufacturing establishments employing B or M workers; excludes new construction and additions.
- Experience or qualification
- For municipalities, schools, hospitals, colleges and other nonmanufacturing firms or establishments regularly employing one or more Class B or M electricians. Describe the owned or occupied premises; the form requests worker license numbers and the responsible electrician signature.
- Examination
- No test for this premises application, as marked in the DLT fee table. The electricians employed under it must hold the required worker licenses.
- Initial fee
- $240 initial or renewal application.
- Renewal
- Renews for two years on the qualifying individual's birthday. One license is required for each listed address.
- Official application
- Apply / forms →
PC — Public Higher-Education Limited-Premises License Premises license
- Issuing authority
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation →
- Scope of work
- Public higher-education premises work through Class B employees: replacement, retrofit, upgrade, maintenance, repair or minor alteration. A single classroom/laboratory project is limited to 2,000 square feet; other projects to 1,250. No splitting projects to evade limits or work in demolished/gutted spaces. Minor alterations include new individual branch circuits within sight or 50 feet.
- Experience or qualification
- A public institution of higher education must regularly employ one or more Class B journeyperson electricians. A responsible officer applies with a description of the owned or occupied premises; work requires the applicable municipal or state permit.
- Examination
- The PC statute does not state an examination requirement, and the current C/D application does not name PC. Confirm PC examination and filing requirements with DLT; the C/D no-test entry does not establish PC treatment.
- Initial fee
- A PC-specific amount is not stated in section 5-6-16 or the current C/D application. Confirm initial and renewal charges with DLT; do not assume the C/D $240 fee applies.
- Renewal
- Section 5-6-20 states a general two-year renewal period on the qualifying individual’s birthday. A PC-specific fee and operational renewal procedure are not identified in the reviewed materials; confirm the institution’s renewal instructions with DLT.
- Official legal authority
- View rules →
Electrical Inspector Certification Inspector certification
- Issuing authority
- Rhode Island Building Code Standards Committee / State Building Office →
- Scope of work
- State certification for electrical inspection. It is distinct from general building-inspector classes.
- Experience or qualification
- At least five years of applicable licensed electrical experience and an active Rhode Island A or B license under the rule. An active Rhode Island electrical professional-engineer registration in good standing satisfies the license requirement, not the experience requirement.
- Examination
- The current electrical-inspector rule lists qualification options based on an active A or B license and five years of experience; it does not list a separate electrical-inspector certification exam. Submit the prescribed application and supporting documents for Committee approval.
- Initial fee
- A certification application fee is not stated in the current certification rule or State Building Office guidance reviewed here. Confirm any charge with that office. Its free State Building Code Academy training statement does not establish a zero certification fee.
- Renewal
- One-year certification; annual renewal requires fifteen continuing-education hours.
- Official application
- Apply / forms →
Licensed in another state?
No reviewed route into Rhode Island is listed yet. Ask Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation how it treats a license from another state.
Reviewed and found no reciprocity or exam-waiver agreement for licenses from these states. You can still apply through the standard route:
Starting an apprenticeship
Work with the program sponsor to complete the apprenticeship agreement and obtain the registration card. Registration is tied to the sponsor and employer listed on the card; changing employers requires a new agreement and card. Watch the expiration date and request any justified extension before it expires.
The current registration instructions do not state an initial registration charge. The general electrician form's $20 entries are expressly one-year apprentice renewals for burner, fire-alarm, sign and lightning-protection categories. They do not establish the fee for a new registration. Ask DLT which registration route and amount apply before sending payment.
Businesses, premises and restricted work
A firm or corporate certificate links the business to its qualifying contractor. The contractor's original license cannot be used independently while attached to that business. Official forms disagree about the corporate certificate's fee and renewal term; confirm these with DLT before filing.
C and D are applications for an employer's listed premises using licensed workers. The DLT fee table marks both as no-test applications. PC is a separate statutory authorization for public higher-education institutions employing Class B electricians; the C/D form does not name PC. Confirm PC's filing route, fee and examination treatment with DLT.
C's construction limits differ across the statute, rule and application instructions. D excludes new construction and additions. PC has its own project-area limits and excludes demolished or gutted spaces. Obtain the required permit and confirm that the proposed project fits the exact premises authorization.
Specialties and older pathways
The active rule gives F, BF and CF applicants a two-year, 4,000-hour limited-apprentice route, while the general application describes four years and 576 instruction hours for journeyperson tests. Its general contractor instructions require six years in the respective trade and a Rhode Island journeyperson license held for two years. Confirm the applicable class and evidence with DLT when the instructions conflict.
The statute calls the sign-renovation license SRL; the rule calls it LPR, and the current general application does not list it. This does not establish that new issuance is closed or that it is renewal-only. Section 5-6-34 provided a 1991–1992 examination-waiver window and a 1995–1996 training-period exception for examination eligibility. Those historical windows are not an ordinary application route today.
For lightning-protection contractors, the statute lists a $240 license fee but the current application lists $200. Burner licenses also have restricted equipment scopes. Verify the applicable restriction and lawful fee before applying.
Before you apply
Use the official forms for the exact credential. Apprentice registration, a journeyperson examination and a contractor examination are different filings. The cards distinguish application forms from legal-authority links when a current class-specific application has not been verified.
Electrical-inspector certification is handled by the State Building Office. Its current rule governs electrical-inspector qualifications; the office's general training page includes older building-inspector procedures. Free training mentioned on that page does not establish that certification itself has no fee. Use the official certification guidance to confirm the application and any charge. This page was re-verified against dlt.ri.gov on October 1, 2026.
View Application Information → License Lookup →
Cite this page
- Title
- Electrician Licensing in Rhode Island
- URL
- https://tradesdir.com/electrical/licensing/rhode-island
- Information checked
- 2026-10-01
Suggested citation: Electrician Licensing in Rhode Island. Trades Directory. https://tradesdir.com/electrical/licensing/rhode-island (information checked 2026-10-01).