Licensing

Electrician Licensing in Maryland

Maryland licenses electricians statewide, and some counties and cities also license or register them; check the rules where you will work. The journeyman-level credential is the Journeyperson Electrician, issued by the Maryland State Board of Electricians.

Source: Maryland State Board of Electricians, checked 2026-10-07

Before you start: You need this state credential before you start electrical work in Maryland.

Credential
Apprentice Electrician license
Issued by
Maryland State Board of Electricians
Fee
$12.00 original license (COMAR 09.09.01.03, effective July 1, 2025)

Official source · Checked 2026-10-07

Page last reviewed 2026-10-01 against official sources; credential requirements checked 2026-09-06. Confirm with the issuing authority before applying.

Licensed in another state? See reviewed routes into Maryland.

How electrical licensing works in Maryland

Maryland licenses Apprentice, Journeyperson and Master Electricians statewide. Apprentices assist under a licensed Master's direction or control; Journeypersons provide or assist with electrical services under that supervision. A Master may provide electrical services and may assign the license to one company as its qualified agent. The company then supplies the required insurance; a Master working on their own supplies their own insurance.

State licensure is only one part of planning a job. Check the county or municipality governing the job address for registration, business, permit and inspection requirements. This page reviews selected local requirements in Anne Arundel County, Baltimore City, Queen Anne's County, St. Mary's County and Wicomico County. That coverage is not exhaustive. Temporary military recognition and inspection qualifications are separate from the ordinary worker pathway.

Credential-specific requirements

Requirements differ by credential. Expand any credential for the work or business activity you plan to perform. Issued by Maryland State Board of Electricians unless noted.

Apprentice Electrician Individual license
Issuing authority
Maryland State Board of Electricians →
Scope of work
Individual license to assist with electrical services under a licensed Master's direction or control while training to become a Journeyperson.
Experience or qualification
The Board states there are no prequalifications for an original Apprentice license.
Examination
No examination required, according to the Board-linked PSI bulletin.
Initial fee
$12 original-license fee.
Renewal
$12 renewal for a two-year staggered term. The reviewed continuing-education rule specifies Master and Journeyperson hours; confirm any Apprentice renewal instructions with the Board.
Official application
Apply / forms →
Journeyperson Electrician Individual license
Issuing authority
Maryland State Board of Electricians →
Scope of work
Individual license to provide or assist in providing electrical services under a licensed Master Electrician's direction or control while training to become a Master Electrician.
Experience or qualification
The ordinary route requires four years of experience under a licensed Master Electrician or similarly qualified governmental employee and, on or after July 1, 2024, four years holding a current State or local Apprentice license while completing that experience. The approved-apprenticeship waiver route requires at least 8,000 work hours and 576 classroom hours, must be filed within two years after program completion, and produces the same credential.
Examination
PSI Journeyperson examination: 70 questions, 210 minutes, 49 correct (70%) to pass, open book; $65 examination fee paid separately. Approved-apprenticeship and reciprocity applicants must confirm the applicable waiver route with the Board.
Initial fee
$18.50 original-license fee.
Renewal
$18.50 renewal; two-year staggered term; 5 hours of continuing education.
Official application
Apply / forms →
Master Electrician Individual license
Issuing authority
Maryland State Board of Electricians →
Scope of work
Individual license to provide electrical services. A Master may assign the license to one company as its qualified agent; the company supplies insurance for that arrangement. A Master working independently supplies their own insurance.
Experience or qualification
Ordinary examination eligibility requires seven years of regular and principal electrical-services experience under a Master Electrician or similarly qualified governmental employee; up to three years of comparable formal study may be credited, and qualifying approved-apprenticeship work must be credited.
Examination
PSI Master examination: 90 questions worth 100 points, 240 minutes, 70% passing score, open book. Current vendor examination charge is $65.
Initial fee
$25 original-license fee.
Renewal
$31.50 renewal for a two-year staggered term. Complete 10 hours of continuing education in the preceding license term, including at least 5 classroom hours.
Official application
Apply / forms →
Active-Duty Servicemember or Spouse Temporary Practice Recognition Letter Temporary authorization
Issuing authority
Maryland State Board of Electricians →
Scope of work
Temporary recognition of a qualifying out-of-state occupational license at a similar scope of practice or discipline in Maryland. The recognition letter does not grant a permanent Maryland electrical license.
Experience or qualification
Active-duty servicemember or spouse residing in Maryland under military orders; hold and maintain an occupational license in good standing in another state, and have used it during the two years immediately before the relocation order.
Examination
The recognition application does not specify a separate Maryland examination. It relies on a qualifying out-of-state occupational license; confirm any additional electrician-specific documents with the Board. Permanent licensure uses a separate examination or endorsement/reciprocity application.
Initial fee
No fee.
Renewal
Practice authority lasts while the qualifying Maryland military placement remains in effect; Maryland professional and continuing-education standards continue to apply.
Official application
Apply / forms →
Non-Governmental Electrical Inspector Individual certification Maryland Office of the State Fire Marshal
Issuing authority
Maryland Office of the State Fire Marshal →
Scope of work
Individual State Fire Marshal certification to inspect electrical installations for compliance with the National Electrical Code or adopted local electrical codes. This is a separate qualification from the State Board inspector identification card.
Experience or qualification
Complete an electrician apprenticeship and at least five years of documented progressive electrical-trade experience. OSFM may consider an electrical-engineering degree or accumulated credits with education, training and experience instead of the stated experience.
Examination
Satisfactory completion of the comprehensive written OSFM examination process.
Initial fee
$100 initial certification fee.
Renewal
$50 renewal. Certification follows fixed three-year cycles; the current period ends June 30, 2028. Applying partway through the period does not extend the expiration date or prorate the fee.
Official application
Apply / forms →

Verified local licensing authorities

This is a curated, not exhaustive, list. Confirm which licensing authority governs the actual job site before relying on a credential.

Anne Arundel County

Valid only for work governed by Anne Arundel County.

Master Limited Electrician Local individual license
Issuing authority
Anne Arundel County Board of Electrical Examiners →
Geographic validity
Valid only for work governed by Anne Arundel County.
Scope of work
Plant-work credential covering work from an existing distribution system in premises occupied by the licensee.
Experience or qualification
Two immediately preceding years under a Master General or Master Limited licensee, supported by employer references.
Examination
Anne Arundel County written examination; $75 examination fee.
Initial fee
$85 for the county-reciprocity application. The examination application charges $75 separately; the reviewed forms do not state a separate post-examination issuance fee. Confirm the total for your route with the County.
Renewal
$60 active renewal or $10 inactive renewal. The reviewed renewal form does not state the license term; confirm your expiration and status with the County before renewing.
Restricted Electrician Local individual license
Issuing authority
Anne Arundel County Board of Electrical Examiners →
Geographic validity
Valid only for work governed by Anne Arundel County.
Scope of work
Restricted installations from the point of distribution to equipment, in the approved category: Heating & A/C, Low Voltage/Communications, Fire Alarms, Electric Signs, or Water Conditioner.
Experience or qualification
Qualify through the Master General route or one immediately preceding year under a Restricted or Master Limited licensee, supported by employer references.
Examination
Anne Arundel County written examination; $75 examination fee.
Initial fee
$85 for the county-reciprocity application. The examination application charges $75 separately; the reviewed forms do not state a separate post-examination issuance fee. Confirm the total for your route with the County.
Renewal
$60 active renewal or $10 inactive renewal. The reviewed renewal form does not state the license term; confirm your expiration and status with the County before renewing.

Baltimore City

Baltimore City only. Code-listed restricted and maintenance classes are shown for their stated scopes, but current issuance is disputed: City permit guidance says the City does not issue trade licenses. Verify the available registration or business route directly with the City.

Master Electrician, Restricted Local code-listed license; availability disputed
Issuing authority
Baltimore City Board of Electrical Examiners and Supervisors →
Geographic validity
Baltimore City only. Code-listed restricted and maintenance classes are shown for their stated scopes, but current issuance is disputed: City permit guidance says the City does not issue trade licenses. Verify the available registration or business route directly with the City.
Scope of work
Services and allied components up to 150A, 110/220V, single phase, in dwellings containing no more than three units. City permit guidance says Baltimore does not issue trade licenses, although the Code and the City-hosted fee study still list this class. Confirm current availability with the City before using this route.
Experience or qualification
The City Code and Public Local Law experience provisions are inconsistent or incomplete for this class. Ask the City to confirm both availability and the required experience before applying.
Examination
City Code lists a Board examination and $35 examination fee; Public Local Law lists $15. Confirm availability, examination and current charge with the City before scheduling.
Initial fee
City Code and the City-hosted fee study list $75 new and renewal fees. Public Local Law lists $35 master issuance and $50 master renewal, with no clear matching fee for every restricted class. Confirm the current charge and availability with the City.
Renewal
City Code specifies annual January 1 renewal; Public Local Law specifies two-year renewal ending May 1 in odd years. Confirm your actual expiration and renewal route with the City.
Restricted Electrician Local code-listed license; availability disputed
Issuing authority
Baltimore City Board of Electrical Examiners and Supervisors →
Geographic validity
Baltimore City only. Code-listed restricted and maintenance classes are shown for their stated scopes, but current issuance is disputed: City permit guidance says the City does not issue trade licenses. Verify the available registration or business route directly with the City.
Scope of work
Equipment-category credential that includes branch-circuit wiring to the named equipment. A firm or entity may hold it only while employing an individual holder. City permit guidance says Baltimore does not issue trade licenses, although the Code and the City-hosted fee study still list this class. Confirm current availability with the City before using this route.
Experience or qualification
The City Code and Public Local Law experience provisions are inconsistent or incomplete for this class. Ask the City to confirm both availability and the required experience before applying.
Examination
City Code lists a Board examination and $35 examination fee; Public Local Law lists $15. Confirm availability, examination and current charge with the City before scheduling.
Initial fee
City Code and the City-hosted fee study list $75 new and renewal fees. Public Local Law lists $35 master issuance and $50 master renewal, with no clear matching fee for every restricted class. Confirm the current charge and availability with the City.
Renewal
City Code specifies annual January 1 renewal; Public Local Law specifies two-year renewal ending May 1 in odd years. Confirm your actual expiration and renewal route with the City.
Maintenance Electrician Local code-listed license; availability disputed
Issuing authority
Baltimore City Board of Electrical Examiners and Supervisors →
Geographic validity
Baltimore City only. Code-listed restricted and maintenance classes are shown for their stated scopes, but current issuance is disputed: City permit guidance says the City does not issue trade licenses. Verify the available registration or business route directly with the City.
Scope of work
Person, firm, or corporation credential for maintaining, servicing, and repairing electrically operated apparatus after original installation; a licensed representative supervises employees. City permit guidance says Baltimore does not issue trade licenses, although the Code and the City-hosted fee study still list this class. Confirm current availability with the City before using this route.
Experience or qualification
The City Code and Public Local Law experience provisions are inconsistent or incomplete for this class. Ask the City to confirm both availability and the required experience before applying.
Examination
City Code describes a written code and practical Maintenance examination with a 70% passing score. Its $35 examination fee conflicts with the $15 Public Local Law amount. Confirm the available route with the City.
Initial fee
City Code and the City-hosted fee study list $50 new and renewal fees; Public Local Law instead lists $25 issuance and $30 renewal. Confirm the current charge and availability with the City.
Renewal
City Code specifies annual January 1 renewal; Public Local Law specifies two-year renewal ending May 1 in odd years. Confirm your actual expiration and renewal route with the City.

Queen Anne's County

Valid only for work governed by Queen Anne's County.

Restricted Electrician License Local individual license
Issuing authority
Queen Anne's County Board of Electrical Examiners →
Geographic validity
Valid only for work governed by Queen Anne's County.
Scope of work
Individually issued credential for work below 90 volts in no more than two selected categories; it may be assigned to one employer.
Experience or qualification
Five years supervised by a Master or Restricted Electrician at 2,000 hours per year, with up to one year of study credit.
Examination
Accredited written examination with a 70% passing score.
Initial fee
$100 new Restricted Electrician license fee on the County application.
Renewal
$100 renewal. The County form and 2025–2027 instructions request 5 continuing-education hours, while the County Code says 10 hours with no more than 5 online. Confirm the hours before renewing. The term is up to two years ending July 1 in an odd year; maintain $300,000 liability and $100,000 property-damage insurance.

St. Mary's County

Valid only for work governed by St. Mary's County.

Restricted Electrician License Local individual license
Issuing authority
St. Mary's County Board of Electrical Examiners →
Geographic validity
Valid only for work governed by St. Mary's County.
Scope of work
Individual license for low-voltage and low-energy fire and burglar alarm systems. The current form also requires the State Police credential when applicable.
Experience or qualification
Minimum age 21; four years of training and experience acquired within the seven years before application, with up to one year of technical-school credit.
Examination
Written examination with a 70% passing score; $25 examination fee.
Initial fee
$150 original issuance and renewal; $50 late penalty after July 31.
Renewal
$150 renewal by July 1 in odd-numbered years; $50 late penalty after July 31; void if not renewed by October 1. The reviewed materials do not establish a continuing-education total; confirm current renewal requirements with the County.
Official application
Apply / forms →
Low-Voltage Electrician License Local individual license
Issuing authority
St. Mary's County Board of Electrical Examiners →
Geographic validity
Valid only for work governed by St. Mary's County.
Scope of work
Individual communications license covering Low Voltage systems, telephone, television including cable, sound systems, public-address systems, optical-fiber cable, and intercom systems; security monitoring is excluded.
Experience or qualification
Minimum age 21; four years of training and experience acquired within the seven years before application, with up to one year of technical-school credit.
Examination
Written examination with a 70% passing score; $25 examination fee.
Initial fee
$150 original issuance and renewal; $50 late penalty after July 31.
Renewal
$150 renewal by July 1 in odd-numbered years; $50 late penalty after July 31; void if not renewed by October 1. The reviewed materials do not establish a continuing-education total; confirm current renewal requirements with the County.
Official application
Apply / forms →

Wicomico County

Wicomico County only. Limited electrical work, individual inspectors and inspection agencies have different requirements. The Board webpage retains Master and general-testing language; confirm the class-specific route under the amended County Code.

Electrician Limited Certificate of Registration Person-held registration
Issuing authority
Wicomico County Board of Electrical Examiners →
Geographic validity
Wicomico County only. Limited electrical work, individual inspectors and inspection agencies have different requirements. The Board webpage retains Master and general-testing language; confirm the class-specific route under the amended County Code.
Scope of work
Person-held registration for installation of listed equipment and its control wiring, with no more than two approved specialties: heating/air conditioning, refrigeration, display signs, elevators, fire alarm/detection systems or electrical appliances.
Experience or qualification
Applicant must be at least 18 years old, carry the required insurance, and either pass the County test or prove qualification to the Board. Reciprocity is an alternate route; no fixed initial experience duration was established.
Examination
Oral, written, or combined County examination; 70% passing score.
Initial fee
$75 registration fee: $20 application deposit, with the balance due on approval.
Renewal
The current County form charges $75 for the two-year cycle ending June 30, 2028. County guidance requires 10 continuing-education hours, with no more than 5 online.
Official application
Apply / forms →
Electrical Inspector Certificate of Registration Individual registration
Issuing authority
Wicomico County Board of Electrical Examiners →
Geographic validity
Wicomico County only. Limited electrical work, individual inspectors and inspection agencies have different requirements. The Board webpage retains Master and general-testing language; confirm the class-specific route under the amended County Code.
Scope of work
Individual electrical-inspection credential under the County Code.
Experience or qualification
One route requires a Maryland, Virginia, or Delaware State Master license active for at least seven years and OSFM certification; a Maryland Master must place the Maryland Master license on uninsured status and provide proof to the County. The alternative requires seven years within the preceding 15 years of active work as a licensed electrician or electrical inspector, ordinarily in Maryland, Delaware, or Virginia, with another state allowed at the Board's discretion; it also requires OSFM certification, IAEI 2A and IAEI 2C plus either IAEI 2B or CEI-M, and the County examination.
Examination
The County examination is explicitly required for the alternative experience-and-certification route. The separate route for a qualifying State Master license holder with OSFM certification does not state that County examination requirement; confirm your route with the Board.
Initial fee
$150 annual fee and at least $300,000 errors-and-omissions/professional-liability insurance.
Renewal
The Code combines a general two-year certificate term with an annual $150 inspector fee. Confirm billing, expiration and any continuing-education requirement with the County before renewing.
Electrical Inspection Agency Certificate of Registration Business registration
Issuing authority
Wicomico County Board of Electrical Examiners →
Geographic validity
Wicomico County only. Limited electrical work, individual inspectors and inspection agencies have different requirements. The Board webpage retains Master and general-testing language; confirm the class-specific route under the amended County Code.
Scope of work
Nongovernmental organization credential; every inspector working under the agency must hold the individual electrical-inspector qualification certificate.
Experience or qualification
The Board assesses the organization's electrical-inspection qualifications and may issue the certificate.
Examination
The agency provision requires the Board to assess the organization's inspection qualifications but does not specify a separate agency examination. Every agency inspector must hold the individual qualification certificate; ask the County which individual qualification route applies.
Initial fee
$250 annual fee and at least $300,000 errors-and-omissions/professional-liability insurance.
Renewal
The Code combines a general two-year certificate term with an annual $250 agency fee. Confirm billing, expiration and renewal procedure with the County.

Licensed in another state?

These routes lead to the statewide credentials they name. A city or county license is separate; check with the local authority for the job site.

Maryland has a reviewed application route for some licenses from 1 state. A route can waive an exam or some experience; you still need the Maryland credential before you work. Expand a state for the routes and their requirements.

Virginia Reciprocity · 2 routes
If you hold
Virginia Journeyman Electrician (Electrical Tradesman) certification (Virginia DPOR Board for Contractors, Title 54.1 Chapter 11, 18VAC50-30), exam-based (PSI)
You can apply for
Maryland Journeyperson license by reciprocity (Maryland State Board of Electricians, Maryland Department of Labor; Maryland Electricians Act)

To apply:

  • hold a current Virginia Journeyperson-level license ('Your license MUST state it is a journeyperson level license')
  • have obtained the license by examination or a Virginia apprenticeship program
  • have been licensed for a minimum of 1 year
  • upload the verification letter from Virginia showing first-issue date, current expiration, examination (with date) or Virginia apprenticeship program, and any disciplinary history, with a copy of the current license

Limits:

  • 'The State of Maryland currently only reciprocates a journeyman license with the State of Virginia'
  • 'Maryland's reciprocal licensure agreement requires that the license be obtained by exam, not reciprocity': a license originally obtained by reciprocity elsewhere does not qualify
  • the Maryland license must be issued before work; the reciprocal agreement is not authority to work

Reciprocity. Official source 1 · Official source 2 · Official source 3 · Checked 2026-09-28.

If you hold
Virginia Master Electrician (Electrical Tradesman) certification (Virginia DPOR Board for Contractors, Title 54.1 Chapter 11, 18VAC50-30), exam-based (PSI)
You can apply for
Maryland statewide Master Electrician license by reciprocity (Maryland State Board of Electricians, Maryland Department of Labor; Maryland Electricians Act)

To apply:

  • hold a current Virginia Journeyman or Master Electrician (Electrical Tradesman) certification issued by examination (PSI-administered) by the Virginia DPOR Board for Contractors (18VAC50-30)
  • be in good standing with no disciplinary action or open complaints in Virginia
  • request a letter of good standing from Virginia DPOR sent directly to the receiving board
  • have obtained the Virginia master license by examination: 'A Letter of Good Standing from your home state. It must show license was obtained by exam'
  • file the Reciprocal Master Electrician application with a Certificate of Insurance meeting Maryland requirements and a copy of the current license; fees are paid through the online Reciprocity Application (non-refundable)

Limits:

  • Virginia exam-passed masters 'may apply for licensure in Maryland without taking the Maryland written exam', but the FAQ warns that a license obtained in a local jurisdiction and reciprocated into a Maryland State license cannot then be used for reciprocity elsewhere
  • the state master license is a 'passport', not a performance license: contractor work in many Maryland jurisdictions still requires local-jurisdiction registration
  • the Maryland license must be issued before work; the reciprocal agreement is not authority to work

Reciprocity. Official source 1 · Official source 2 · Official source 3 · Checked 2026-09-28.

Virginia licensing →

Taking your Maryland license elsewhere

Reviewed routes for Maryland licensees, with requirements on each receiving state's page:

  • Delaware: Maryland Master Electrician license (Maryland Board of Electricians, Maryland Department of Labor; Title 6 Business Occupations and Professions Ann. Code), exam-based (PSI) → Delaware Master Electrician or Limited Electrician license by reciprocity (Delaware Board of Electrical Examiners, Division of Professional Regulation; 24 Del. C. ch. 14, 24 Del. Admin. Code 1400) (reciprocity)
  • District of Columbia: Maryland state Journeyperson Electrician license → District of Columbia Journeyman Electrician license (exam waiver)
  • District of Columbia: Maryland state Master Electrician license → District of Columbia Master Electrician license (exam waiver)
  • Virginia: Maryland Master Electrician license (Maryland Board of Electricians, Maryland Department of Labor; Title 6 Business Occupations and Professions Ann. Code), exam-based (PSI) → Virginia Master Electrical Tradesman certification by examination reciprocity (Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, Board for Contractors; Va. Code § 54.1-1100 et seq., 18VAC50-30) (reciprocity)

Choose the route that fits your work

If you are starting supervised electrical work, begin with the Apprentice application. Completing a registered apprenticeship program is different from holding the occupational license. Experienced workers should check the Journeyperson or Master qualifications below. Completing an approved apprenticeship can qualify you for the Journeyperson examination waiver, subject to the program and application deadline requirements.

For a company assignment, use the Board's qualified-agent instructions. Company assignments and insured or uninsured status affect how an existing license is used; they are not additional levels of electrician qualification. An inspector identification card issued through the State Board is different from the State Fire Marshal's Non-Governmental Electrical Inspector certification and from Wicomico County inspection registrations.

Check local scope and conflicting instructions

Maryland law stopped local issuance of Apprentice, Journeyperson and Master licenses from July 1, 2021, while allowing local registrations and other classes to continue under the statutory conditions. Local sources may still use older license titles. Baltimore City permit guidance says the City no longer issues trade licenses, while its Code and a City-hosted fee study still describe local classes. Treat those entries as code-listed records and confirm which registration or business route is available. A local restricted or limited authorization covers only its stated work and locality; it is not a substitute for checking the statewide requirements that apply to you.

The Board's how-to page both says out-of-state Journeyperson reciprocity is unavailable and describes a Virginia route. Confirm your particular credential and route with the Board before applying. Ordinary original and renewal fees agree between the Board fee page and the current regulation, but their effective dates and some late-reinstatement amounts differ. Use the fee for your actual transaction and confirm it before payment.

Queen Anne's County's current forms request five continuing-education hours for Restricted Electricians, but the Code requires ten. Wicomico's inspector and agency records combine annual fees with a general two-year certificate rule. Confirm the applicable requirement with the local board rather than treating these as settled renewal terms.

Before you apply

Choose your worker, business or inspection role first, then confirm the rules for the job address. Use the Board's application guide to select the correct route and its supporting documents. Use state license renewal for an existing state electrician license. Use the shared Application and Renew links in the relevant local-authority section for local forms and instructions. Where a fee, term or examination is unresolved, ask the named issuing authority to confirm that detail before paying or scheduling. This page was re-verified against labor.maryland.gov on October 1, 2026.

License Lookup →

Cite this page
Title
Electrician Licensing in Maryland
URL
https://tradesdir.com/electrical/licensing/maryland
Information checked
2026-10-01

Suggested citation: Electrician Licensing in Maryland. Trades Directory. https://tradesdir.com/electrical/licensing/maryland (information checked 2026-10-01).

← All States