Licensing

Electrician Licensing in Indiana

Indiana has no statewide journeyman electrician license. Some local governments issue their own electrician licenses; check the rules where you will work.

Source: City of Lafayette, checked 2026-10-07

Page last reviewed 2026-10-01 against official sources. Confirm with the issuing authority before applying.

How electrical licensing works in Indiana

Electrical licensing in Indiana is handled locally. Start with the building department for the actual job-site address: ask whether the city, town, or county issues the electrical credential and permits. A mailing address alone may not establish jurisdiction. A worker license and permission to operate an electrical-contracting business can be separate requirements.

This page covers four reviewed areas: Allen County, Evansville-Vanderburgh County, South Bend and the areas served by its joint county building department, and the City of Lafayette. It is not a complete list of Indiana licensing authorities. Do not assume a credential from one locality is accepted elsewhere; ask the destination authority about the specific credential before relying on reciprocity.

Verified local licensing authorities

This is a curated, not exhaustive, list. Confirm which licensing authority governs the actual job site before relying on a credential.

Allen County

Valid for electrical licensing governed by the Allen County Building Department. This is a curated local record, not an exhaustive Indiana municipal inventory; the job-site locality governs.

Allen County Electrical Contractors Business Registration Local contractor-business registration
Issuing authority
Allen County Building Department →
Geographic validity
Valid for electrical licensing governed by the Allen County Building Department. This is a curated local record, not an exhaustive Indiana municipal inventory; the job-site locality governs.
Scope of work
Authorize a business, firm, company, or corporation that contracts or engages in electrical contracting, including securing permits for installation, alteration, and repair of electrical wiring devices, appliances, or equipment, in Allen County. The registrant must employ an Electrical Supervisors Licensee.
Experience or qualification
The designated Electrical Supervisors Licensee must be in the registrant's employ and available at all times for consultations with Allen County building officials.
Examination
—
Initial fee
$90 annual license or registration fee under the rules effective September 6, 2024. Confirm the amount before paying: the department announces a 2026 rules edition as coming soon. Examination sponsorship and test charges, where applicable, are separate.
Renewal
Expires December 31 each year. Renew the same classification for the next calendar year by paying the prescribed $90 annual fee under the available rules, without further examination for ordinary renewal. A lapse of 12 months or more has additional retesting/payment rules; confirm the current fee and any continuing-education requirements with the department.
Official application
Apply / forms →
Allen County Electrical Supervisors License Local individual supervisory worker license
Issuing authority
Allen County Building Department →
Geographic validity
Valid for electrical licensing governed by the Allen County Building Department. This is a curated local record, not an exhaustive Indiana municipal inventory; the job-site locality governs.
Scope of work
Supervise the work and remain responsible for installing, maintaining, altering, or repairing electrical wiring, devices, appliances, and equipment, including while employed by an Electrical Contractor. The holder is considered a master electrician and may qualify an entity for Electrical Contractors Business Registration.
Experience or qualification
Work at least four years and 7,000 hours total for an Electrical Contractor as a journeyman in the same line of work.
Examination
Obtain Allen County exam sponsorship and pass the approved examination. Allen County requires a completed exam sponsorship application and a $25 sponsorship fee before an exam is registered.
Initial fee
$25 annual license or registration fee under the rules effective September 6, 2024. Confirm the amount before paying: the department announces a 2026 rules edition as coming soon. Examination sponsorship and test charges, where applicable, are separate.
Renewal
Expires December 31 each year. Renew the same classification for the next calendar year by paying the prescribed $25 annual fee under the available rules, without further examination for ordinary renewal. A lapse of 12 months or more has additional retesting/payment rules; confirm the current fee and any continuing-education requirements with the department.
Official application
Apply / forms →
Allen County Electrical Journeymans License Local individual journey-level worker license
Issuing authority
Allen County Building Department →
Geographic validity
Valid for electrical licensing governed by the Allen County Building Department. This is a curated local record, not an exhaustive Indiana municipal inventory; the job-site locality governs.
Scope of work
Install, maintain, alter, or repair residential and/or commercial electrical work under the supervision of an Electrical Supervisors Licensee.
Experience or qualification
Work four years and 7,000 hours as an Electrical Apprentice. Approved documented apprentice-program schooling may count for 1,000 hours of on-the-job training, allowing the journeyman examination with three years and 6,000 hours of O.J.T. when otherwise approved.
Examination
Obtain Allen County exam sponsorship and pass the approved journeyman examination. Allen County requires a completed exam sponsorship application and a $25 sponsorship fee before an exam is registered.
Initial fee
$15 annual license or registration fee under the rules effective September 6, 2024. Confirm the amount before paying: the department announces a 2026 rules edition as coming soon. Examination sponsorship and test charges, where applicable, are separate.
Renewal
Expires December 31 each year. Renew the same classification for the next calendar year by paying the prescribed $15 annual fee under the available rules, without further examination for ordinary renewal. A lapse of 12 months or more has additional retesting/payment rules; confirm the current fee and any continuing-education requirements with the department.
Official application
Apply / forms →
Allen County Electrical Apprentice Registration Local individual apprentice registration
Issuing authority
Allen County Building Department →
Geographic validity
Valid for electrical licensing governed by the Allen County Building Department. This is a curated local record, not an exhaustive Indiana municipal inventory; the job-site locality governs.
Scope of work
Work as an Electrical Apprentice only under the direct on-site supervision of an Electrical Supervisors Licensee or Electrical Journeyman Licensee. No separate apprentice license is required, but each apprentice must be registered with the Building Department.
Experience or qualification
Register with the Building Department while employed and working as an electrical apprentice. Electrical work requires direct supervision by an electrical supervisor or journeyman who is present on the job. The available rules do not specify a minimum entry age or prior experience for this registration.
Examination
—
Initial fee
$10 annual license or registration fee under the rules effective September 6, 2024. Confirm the amount before paying: the department announces a 2026 rules edition as coming soon. Examination sponsorship and test charges, where applicable, are separate.
Renewal
Expires December 31 each year. Renew the same classification for the next calendar year by paying the prescribed $10 annual fee under the available rules, without further examination for ordinary renewal. A lapse of 12 months or more has additional retesting/payment rules; confirm the current fee and any continuing-education requirements with the department.
Official application
Apply / forms →

Checked against official sources on 2026-09-06.

Evansville-Vanderburgh County

Valid for electrical licensing governed by the City of Evansville-Vanderburgh County Building Commission. This is a curated local record, not an exhaustive Indiana municipal inventory; the job-site locality governs.

Evansville-Vanderburgh Master Electrician License Local mixed-holder electrical-contractor license
Issuing authority
City of Evansville-Vanderburgh County Building Commission →
Geographic validity
Valid for electrical licensing governed by the City of Evansville-Vanderburgh County Building Commission. This is a curated local record, not an exhaustive Indiana municipal inventory; the job-site locality governs.
Scope of work
Engage in the business of, or hold out as engaged in, installing or repairing, or contracting to install or repair, wires, conductors, and equipment used for the transmission or use of electric current.
Experience or qualification
Current official sources require proof of at least four years of experience, and the license-process PDF also accepts 6,200 hours, for an HVAC or electrical license. Electrical recommendation letters must be on letterhead and notarized.
Examination
Pass the Electrical Masters examination with a score of 75 percent or higher on each part after board approval to test.
Initial fee
$300 new license fee. Examination fees are separate; the process PDF quotes $175 for a Nunn test paid to Ivy Tech, while the process webpage leaves the test charge unspecified. Confirm the assigned test and fee before scheduling.
Renewal
$125 renewal fee. The schedule also lists $225 for a two-year renewal. Contractor continuing education is required; the official education page does not state the hours. A $25 late fee applies after January 31 of the effective license year. Confirm the ordinary expiration date and renewal instructions with the Building Commission.
Official application
Apply / forms →
Evansville-Vanderburgh Journeyman Electrician License Local individual journey-level worker license
Issuing authority
City of Evansville-Vanderburgh County Building Commission →
Geographic validity
Valid for electrical licensing governed by the City of Evansville-Vanderburgh County Building Commission. This is a curated local record, not an exhaustive Indiana municipal inventory; the job-site locality governs.
Scope of work
Work as a workman qualified and competent in the electrician trade while employed by a registered and licensed Master Electrician.
Experience or qualification
Current official sources require proof of at least four years of experience, and the license-process PDF also accepts 6,200 hours, for an HVAC or electrical license. Electrical recommendation letters must be on letterhead and notarized.
Examination
Pass the approved examination. Passing scores for exams other than Electrical Masters and the listed mechanical exams are 70 percent or higher.
Initial fee
$35 new license fee. Examination fees are separate; the process PDF quotes $175 for a Nunn test paid to Ivy Tech, while the process webpage leaves the test charge unspecified. Confirm the assigned test and fee before scheduling.
Renewal
$25 renewal fee. The reviewed education page does not establish whether journeymen have a continuing-education requirement or exemption. A $25 late fee applies after January 31 of the effective license year. Confirm the ordinary expiration date and renewal instructions with the Building Commission.
Official application
Apply / forms →

Checked against official sources on 2026-09-05.

South Bend / St. Joseph County

The joint department serves South Bend and unincorporated St. Joseph County, plus building and trade-code inspections for Indian Village, Lakeville, North Liberty, Osceola and Roseland; those towns retain zoning approval. Mishawaka, New Carlisle and Walkerton have their own departments. Confirm the job-site authority before applying. This is part of a non-exhaustive Indiana directory.

South Bend Class A Electrical Contractor's License Local electrical-contractor license
Issuing authority
City of South Bend Building Department →
Geographic validity
The joint department serves South Bend and unincorporated St. Joseph County, plus building and trade-code inspections for Indian Village, Lakeville, North Liberty, Osceola and Roseland; those towns retain zoning approval. Mishawaka, New Carlisle and Walkerton have their own departments. Confirm the job-site authority before applying. This is part of a non-exhaustive Indiana directory.
Scope of work
Authorize electrical contracting work governed by the City of South Bend Building Department in the City of South Bend and St. Joseph County, subject to the Class A Electrical Contractor's License requirements.
Experience or qualification
The current application asks for occupation history for the last four years, employer/duties history, total journeyman and contractor experience, and education information if applicable experience is under four years. New-registration uploads include photo ID showing age 21 or older, a police background statement, and employer references verifying apprenticeship (or the listed business/tax records for owners). Board approval is required; education-credit equivalence is not specified.
Examination
The current application requests proof of at least 70% on the National Master Electrician exam (identified on the form as F16-N through Pearson Vue or Prometric), or a comparable nationally recognized examination approved by the Board of Examiners. Confirm acceptance before booking. The $50 examination filing/application-review charge is separate from any provider test fee.
Initial fee
The 2026 fee schedule lists a $125 new fee, a $125 renewal fee, a $50 examination filing fee, and a $5,000 one-year bond made out to the City of South Bend and St. Joseph County. The 311 article also lists a $125 registration fee and a $50 application-review fee for new electrical registrations.
Renewal
The 2026 fee schedule lists a $125 renewal fee for the Class A Electrical Contractor's License.
Official application
Apply / forms →
South Bend Class B Industrial Electrical License Local industrial electrical license
Issuing authority
City of South Bend Building Department →
Geographic validity
The joint department serves South Bend and unincorporated St. Joseph County, plus building and trade-code inspections for Indian Village, Lakeville, North Liberty, Osceola and Roseland; those towns retain zoning approval. Mishawaka, New Carlisle and Walkerton have their own departments. Confirm the job-site authority before applying. This is part of a non-exhaustive Indiana directory.
Scope of work
Authorize industrial electrical work governed by the City of South Bend Building Department under the Class B Industrial Electrical License.
Experience or qualification
Identify the company and industrial premises where the work will be performed. The application offers a premises-confined Class B route and collects worker/employer history, but does not clearly separate the Class B qualification and upload requirements from Class A. Confirm Class B eligibility and required documents with the Building Department.
Examination
—
Initial fee
The 2026 fee schedule lists a $125 fee and a one-year term from the date of issuance.
Renewal
The 2026 fee schedule states a one-year term from the date of issuance.
Official application
Apply / forms →

Checked against official sources on 2026-09-06.

Lafayette

Valid for electrical licensing governed by the City of Lafayette. This is a curated local record, not an exhaustive Indiana municipal inventory; the job-site locality governs.

Lafayette Commercial/Industrial Electrical Contractor's License Local electrical-contractor license
Issuing authority
City of Lafayette →
Geographic validity
Valid for electrical licensing governed by the City of Lafayette. This is a curated local record, not an exhaustive Indiana municipal inventory; the job-site locality governs.
Scope of work
Engage in the business of electrical construction and supervision including industrial, institutional, commercial, residential, and sign construction within the City of Lafayette. A holder licensed for commercial or industrial electrical work may also perform residential electrical work.
Experience or qualification
Present proof of insurance and either have ten or more years of electrical-construction experience, or have at least six years of electrical-construction experience and a diploma from a four-year electrical engineering college or university, or pass the required examination. General liability insurance of at least $250,000 is required to obtain and renew an electrical license.
Examination
Pass the required examination for the particular license sought when using the examination route.
Initial fee
The current Lafayette page lists a $200.00 license fee and a $100.00 annual renewal fee.
Renewal
The current Lafayette page lists a $100.00 annual renewal fee and a $25.00 late renewal fee.
Official application
Apply / forms →
Lafayette Commercial/Industrial Electrician's License Local individual worker license
Issuing authority
City of Lafayette →
Geographic validity
Valid for electrical licensing governed by the City of Lafayette. This is a curated local record, not an exhaustive Indiana municipal inventory; the job-site locality governs.
Scope of work
Perform all types of industrial, institutional, commercial, residential, and sign construction within the City of Lafayette. A holder licensed for commercial or industrial electrical work may also perform residential electrical work.
Experience or qualification
Present proof of insurance and either have five or more years of electrical-construction experience with certification from a commercial/industrial contractor license holder, or pass the required examination. General liability insurance of at least $250,000 is required to obtain and renew an electrical license.
Examination
Pass the required examination for the particular license sought when using the examination route.
Initial fee
The current Lafayette page lists a $50.00 license fee and a $20.00 annual renewal fee.
Renewal
The current Lafayette page lists a $20.00 annual renewal fee and a $25.00 late renewal fee.
Official application
Apply / forms →
Lafayette Residential Electrical Contractor's License Local electrical-contractor license
Issuing authority
City of Lafayette →
Geographic validity
Valid for electrical licensing governed by the City of Lafayette. This is a curated local record, not an exhaustive Indiana municipal inventory; the job-site locality governs.
Scope of work
Engage in the business of residential electrical construction and supervision within the City of Lafayette. Residential coverage includes housing units used or designed as living units, including multifamily housing, except multifamily buildings of four or more units, which are commercial.
Experience or qualification
Present proof of insurance and either have ten or more years of electrical-construction experience, or have at least six years of electrical-construction experience and a diploma from a four-year electrical engineering college or university, or pass the required examination. General liability insurance of at least $250,000 is required to obtain and renew an electrical license.
Examination
Pass the required examination for the particular license sought when using the examination route.
Initial fee
The current Lafayette page lists a $150.00 license fee and a $75.00 annual renewal fee.
Renewal
The current Lafayette page lists a $75.00 annual renewal fee and a $25.00 late renewal fee.
Official application
Apply / forms →
Lafayette Residential Electrician's License Local individual worker license
Issuing authority
City of Lafayette →
Geographic validity
Valid for electrical licensing governed by the City of Lafayette. This is a curated local record, not an exhaustive Indiana municipal inventory; the job-site locality governs.
Scope of work
Perform all phases of residential type electrical construction within the City of Lafayette.
Experience or qualification
Present proof of insurance and either have four or more years of electrical-construction experience with certification from a residential contractor license holder, or pass the required examination. General liability insurance of at least $250,000 is required to obtain and renew an electrical license.
Examination
Pass the required examination for the particular license sought when using the examination route.
Initial fee
The current Lafayette page lists a $25.00 license fee and a $15.00 annual renewal fee.
Renewal
The current Lafayette page lists a $15.00 annual renewal fee and a $25.00 late renewal fee.
Official application
Apply / forms →

Checked against official sources on 2026-09-05.

Choosing a local credential

In Allen County, the business registration depends on an employed electrical supervisor; journeyman licenses and apprentice registrations cover different worker roles. Evansville-Vanderburgh distinguishes the master who contracts for work from the journeyman employed by a licensed master. South Bend distinguishes general electrical contracting from industrial work confined to identified premises. Lafayette has separate contractor and electrician licenses for commercial/industrial and residential work.

Fees and requirements to confirm

Allen County's available rules took effect September 6, 2024. The department now announces a 2026 rules edition as coming soon. The amounts below are the fees in the available rules; confirm that no newer schedule applies before paying. A business registration is distinct from the supervisor's examination. The rules require apprentice registration rather than an apprentice license, but do not expressly resolve whether a separate registration examination applies. Confirm that point and any entry requirements with the department.

South Bend's online application requests occupation and employer history, education information when applicable experience is under four years, photo identification showing age 21 or older, a police background statement, employer references and proof of a passing master examination. It also offers Class B industrial registration, but the retrieved form does not clearly distinguish Class B examination and bond requirements. Ask the department which uploads apply to Class B before arranging a test or bond. The linked older electrical PDF is unavailable.

Evansville-Vanderburgh publishes separate master and journeyman license fees. Its process PDF quotes a $175 Nunn test charge payable to Ivy Tech, while the process webpage directs applicants to schedule and pay the required test fee without stating an amount. Confirm the test and charge assigned to your application. Contractor continuing education is required; the reviewed education page does not specify hours or establish a journeyman exemption. Confirm the renewal expiration date and education requirements for your credential.

Before you apply

Confirm jurisdiction, credential class, examination route, total fees, renewal date, and any insurance or bond requirements with the issuing department. Allen County's exam-sponsorship form is for the individual examination route; use its licensing office for business and apprentice registration instructions. Its building department announces a new Citizen Access portal for online services.

Use Allen County's contractor licensing instructions and building department notices, Evansville-Vanderburgh's license process, South Bend's contractor licensing instructions, and Lafayette's electrical license requirements and application directory. These are local electrical destinations; Indiana's Professional Licensing Agency portals are not a statewide electrician application route. This page was re-verified against the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency and the local issuers cited on this page on October 1, 2026.

Cite this page
Title
Electrician Licensing in Indiana
URL
https://tradesdir.com/electrical/licensing/indiana
Information checked
2026-10-01

Suggested citation: Electrician Licensing in Indiana. Trades Directory. https://tradesdir.com/electrical/licensing/indiana (information checked 2026-10-01).

← All States